Buy Online Seth Lakeman - Freedom Fields [Relentless]

Seth Lakeman

Freedom Fields [Relentless] CD Album

CD £6.99

Release Date: 11/01/2006

Discs: 1

With Freedom Fields, Seth Lakeman has really come of age, both as a performer and a writer. There are some traditional tracks on here -- or possibly traditionally influenced, at least -- but the majority of work is from his own pen. But even the older work has been given a modern acoustic sheen -- you'd barely recognize it as coming from the tradition. There's a maturity to his own songs that was missing before, a real compassion to a piece like "Riflemen of War," while "Send Yourself Away" makes for a gloriously tender closer. That Lakeman's spent time listening to dance music and hip-hop is quite apparent, as a brief listen to "The Colliers" makes clear. But he's equally at home on softer material. There's a theme of duty and the implications of fulfilling it running through the album, not just in military terms but also in relationships. With thoughtful, full arrangements that never sound crowded, he's made the best record of his career. ~ Chris Nickson

Disc 1
1. Lady of the Sea
2. Setting of the Sun
3. The White Hare
4. The Colliers
5. King & Country
6. Childe the Hunter
7. Take No Rogues
8. 1643
9. Riflemen of War
10. The Charmer
11. Final Lot
12. Band of Gold
13. Send Yourself Away